Cascade Iowa Chamber of Commerce Logo

Shop Local, Buy Local!

Cascade Iowa Police Department

Cascade Police Image 320 1st Avenue West
Cascade, Iowa 52033
[email protected]
Fred Heim, Police Chief
Tyler Hunt, Police Officer

The Cascade Police Department serves the City of Cascade with emergency and non-emergency services. The department services include, but are not limited to police emergency, crime prevention and education for organizations, civic groups and private business. The Dubuque County Sheriff’s Office has an official School Resource Program with the Western Dubuque School District. The Cascade Police Department teaches DARE/Keepin It REAL and works closely with the schools within the school district. The police department is based on community oriented police services.

The City of Cascade sits within the jurisdictional boundary of Dubuque County and Jones County. The Cascade Police Department is an active participant with the Jones County Emergency Response Team (JCERT) and is a member of LEIN in Region #3.

The Cascade Police Department consists of two full-time and two part-time police officers. The command staff includes, Police Chief Fred Heim and Officer Tyler Hunt. The part-time staff includes Erik Honda, Adam Herrig, Jordan Koos, and Dan Jacobs.

The department has one full-time patrol vehicle and another vehicle that can be used for emergency or as a second patrol vehicle during busy times of the year. The primary patrol vehicle is equipped with a video camera, stop sticks, and emergency services equipment. The Cascade Police Department carries the X26 Taser as a non-lethal option.

The department works closely with the Dubuque County Sheriff’s Office and Jones County Sheriff’s Office to provide protection to the community and area surrounding Cascade.

In August of each year the Cascade Police Department helps to sponsor a Crime Night Out. On this night the community comes together at the Cascade Community Park to enjoy entertainment, food, and demonstrations by community members and business owners.